How to Delete TikTok Videos in 2022

How to Delete TikTok Videos

If you have posted a TikTok video but then you realize that it has a significant flaw that needs significant editing to correct, the remedy is to delete the video from your account and make your edits before uploading it again. In this post, we’ll discuss how to delete TikTok videos. Keep reading for the details……

TikTok is a top-rated video-sharing platform that boasts a massive following worldwide.  In part, TikTok's popularity stems from the many video editing tools that make it very easy to create your own videos. Even though creating videos on the platform is super easy, it is worth mentioning that editing already uploaded videos is not easy on TikTok.

Meaning if you notice a problem with your TikTok video after uploading, the only way to fix it is to remove it entirely from your account, edit and then upload it again. In the same breath, here will show you how to delete TikTok videos step by step.


How to delete TikTok videos

It is super easy to delete TikTok videos. Just follow these steps to get it done:

Step 1: Open the TikTok app on your iPhone or Android phone and tap the profile icon in the bottom-right corner of your screen.

Step 2: Tap the Me Tab at the bottom of the screen.

Step 3: Tap the three dots in the top-right corner of your profile page, then select “Manage my Account.

Step 4: Tap on “My Videos” at the top of your account settings page, then press and hold down on any video you'd like to delete from your profile.

Step 5: Tap “Delete Video” at the bottom of the screen. Confirm that you wish to delete this video by tapping “Delete.


Delete TikTok Videos on an iPhone

If you are an iPhone user, the steps for deleting TikTok videos are slightly different. Follow these steps to get it done:

Step 1: Open the TikTok app on your iPhone.

Step 2: Tap ‘Me' at the bottom right of the screen.

Step 3: Tap ‘Manage My Account.'

Step 4: Tap ‘Drafts‘ at the top of the screen. This will show all your unpublished videos, including those that haven't been posted yet and deleted previously but are still available for restoration.

Step 5: Select the videos you wish to delete by tapping them (a blue checkmark will appear next to each selected video). If you want to delete all your drafts, tap ‘Select All.'

Step 6: Tap' Delete.


Delete TikTok Videos on an Android

If you are using an Android-powered device, here are the steps for deleting a TikTok video:

Step 1: Open TikTok on your Android device.

Step 2: Tap the “Me” icon in the lower-right corner.

Step 3: Tap the ellipsis (•••) in the upper-right corner.

Step 4: Tap My Content.

Step 5: Tap Manage Videos at the top of the screen.

Step 6: Select the video you want to delete and then tap Delete Selected at the bottom of the screen.


Delete TikTok Videos in the Draft

On TikTok, draft videos have not been published yet and, as such, are only visible by their owner. It's easy to delete these from your TikTok account straight from the Drafts page. Something to note is that most of, if not all, TikTok video edits are only possible on draft videos and fresh videos that you just recorded and are yet to post. With that being said, here's how to delete a draft from TikTok:

  • Launch the TikTok app on your iPhone or Android device.
  • Tap the plus icon at the bottom to create a new video.
  • Select Drafts from the top menu bar.
  • Select the draft you want to delete.
  • Tap the three dots at the top right corner.
  • Click Delete.

Just like that, you have successfully deleted a draft TikTok video.


Recover Deleted TikTok Videos

Did you know that, contrary to what many people think, if you delete a video from your TikTok account, it's not gone forever? You can recover your deleted videos from the settings section of your account. Here is how to do it, step by step:

Step 1: Open TikTok on your iPhone or Android Phone.

Step 2: Tap your profile picture on the bottom-right corner of the screen.

Step 3: Tap the three dots in the top-right corner of the screen to open the settings menu.

Step 4: ap “Manage My Account” near the bottom of this screen.

Step 5: Tap “Account Privacy and Security.”

Step 6: Tap “Restore Deleted Videos & Posts.”

Step 7: Tick the box next to each video you want to restore, then tap “Restore” in the top-right corner of your screen.

That’s all it takes to recover your deleted TikTok account.


FAQs

Q. Can You Recover a Deleted Video on TikTok?

Yes! Once you've deleted a video from your account, it will appear in the trash folder in your profile for 30 days. You can restore videos from there before they're permanently lost.

Q. Can I Delete Someone’s TikTok video?

No, it is impossible to delete someone’s video on TikTok. That privilege is the preserve of the video creator. However, you can report any harassing video to the TikTok support team. If there’s sufficient proof that the video is harassing or blackmailing you, that is a clear contravention of the TikTok community guidelines for posting and sharing on the platform. It won’t be long before such a video is taken down.

Q. If I Delete My Account, Will it Delete My Videos?

If you delete your account, videos posted on your report will disappear from the TikTok application. However, if other users have already downloaded and shared the video, it will still be visible to them and to other new users who may access the video after your account is removed.


Bottom Line

Even if you don't plan on using TikTok, it's worth knowing how to delete your videos if you end up uploading any. It's a great way to have some fun with friends, but delete them after a while. There are several ways to do this, and they vary slightly depending on whether the videos are your own or shared with you by your friends.

Written by Jason Striegel

C/C++, Java, Python, Linux developer for 18 years, A-Tech enthusiast love to share some useful tech hacks.